Professor Krishnendu Chakrabarty

Department of Electrical Engineering
Duke University

Krishnendu Chakrabarty Krishnendu Chakrabarty (F’08) received the B.Tech. degree from IIT Kharagpur, Kharagpur, India, in 1990, and the M.S.E. and Ph.D. degrees from the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI, USA, in 1992 and 1995, respectively.

He is currently the William H. Younger Distinguished Professor of Engineering with the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering and a Professor of Computer Science at Duke University, Durham, NC, USA. He serves as the Executive Director of Graduate Studies in Electrical and Computer Engineering. He has authored 16 books on these topics (with one more book in press), published over 500 papers in journals and refereed conference proceedings, and given over 220 invited, keynote, and plenary talks. He has also presented 40 tutorials at major international conferences. His current research interests include testing and design-for-testability of integrated circuits, digital microfluidics, biochips, and cyberphysical systems, and optimization of digital print and enterprise systems. He has also led major research projects in the past on wireless sensor networks, embedded real-time operating systems, and chip cooling using digital microfluidics.

Prof. Chakrabarty is a fellow of Association for Computing Machinery (ACM), and a Golden Core Member of the IEEE Computer Society. He holds five U.S. patents, with several patents pending. He was a 2009 Invitational Fellow of the Japan Society for the Promotion of Science. He was a recipient of the 2008 Duke University Graduate School Dean’s Award for excellence in mentoring, and the 2010 Capers and Marion McDonald Award for Excellence in Mentoring and Advising, Pratt School of Engineering, Duke University. He served as a Distinguished Visitor with the IEEE Computer Society from 2005 to 2007 and 2010 to 2012, and as a Distinguished Lecturer with the IEEE Circuits and Systems Society from 2006 to 2007 and 2012 to 2013. He is currently an ACM Distinguished Speaker. He was a recipient of the National Science Foundation Early Faculty (CAREER) Award, the Office of Naval Research Young Investigator Award, the Humboldt Research Award from the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, Germany, and 10 Best Paper Awards at the major IEEE conferences, Distinguished Alumnus Award from IIT Kharagpur. He served as the Editor-in-Chief of the IEEE DESIGN AND TEST OF COMPUTERS from 2010 to 2012. He serves as the Editor-in-Chief of the ACM Journal on Emerging Technologies in Computing Systems and he will serve as the Editor-in-Chief of the IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON VLSI SYSTEMS in 2015. He is also an Associate Editor of the IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON COMPUTERS, the IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON BIOMEDICAL CIRCUITS AND SYSTEMS, and the ACM Transactions on Design Automation of Electronic Systems. He serves on the Steering Committee of the IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON VLSI SYSTEMS and the IEEE JOURNAL ON EXPLORATORY SOLID-STATE COMPUTATIONAL DEVICES AND CIRCUITS, and as an Editor of the Journal of Electronic Testing: Theory and Applications. He was an Associate Editor of the IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON VLSI SYSTEMS from 2005 to 2009, the IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON COMPUTER-AIDED DESIGN OF INTEGRATED CIRCUITS AND SYSTEMS from 2001 to 2013, the IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON CIRCUITS AND SYSTEMS I from 2005 to 2006, and the IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON CIRCUITS AND SYSTEMS II from 2010 to 2013.